Welcome back!

Image

As you can see, The Small Places has moved from Blogspot to WordPress, and has a new look.  It’s something I’ve been meaning to do for some time.  I’ve moved for four main reasons:

  1. The old website was ugly, and I couldn’t seem to make it any less ugly;
  2. I’m told by tech friends that WordPress is more accessible for people using screen readers and other assistive technology;
  3. Whilst setting up a website for work (I’ll share a link soon…), I discovered that I find WordPress’ interface less glitchy;
  4. People keep asking me about email alerts, and working out how to set this up on Blogger was beyond my very limited skills…  So those wanting email alerts – look to your right.

The photograph in the header of the blog, and at the top if this post, was taken by Maggie Murphy at the East Side Gallery in Berlin, who kindly said I could use it.

All the old posts should have been imported.  I am spring cleaning the resources page.  There is one on the Mental Capacity Act 2005, and eventually there will be one on legal capacity and the CRPD as well.  Please contact me if you have any comments or suggestions.

Some of you might have noticed I’m not on Twitter at the moment.  I haven’t decided to leave forever, but after conducting a best interests balance sheet – weighing up the pros and cons of being on Twitter – the factor of magnetic importance was that I have too much on my plate at the moment and I wanted to concentrate on things that require a longer attention span!

Leave a Reply

